United States Air Force Academy   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

News > Academy honors local stars at awards banquet
Previous ImageNext Image
Academy honors local stars at awards banquet
Air Force Academy Superintendent Lt. Gen. Mike Gould (left) and Chief Master Sgt. Todd Salzman, the Academy command chief (right) pose with the Academy’s Airman of the Year, Senior Airman Joseph McIlvaine, during the Academy Awards ceremony at the Falcon Club Feb. 25, 2012. McIlvaine is assigned to the 10th Surgical Operations Squadron. (U.S. Air Force photo/Elizabeth Andrews)
Download HiRes
Academy honors local stars at awards banquet

Posted 3/2/2012   Updated 3/2/2012 Email story   Print story


by Gino Mattorano
Air Force Academy Public Affairs

3/2/2012 - U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. -- The Air Force Academy recognized 12 superstars at the fourth-annual Academy Awards Banquet Feb. 25.

Forty-four nominees from across Academy mission elements competed in 12 individual categories to earn the right to be named the Academy's best.

Eighteen enlisted nominees were selected from more than 828 enlisted Airmen across the Academy, while 18 civilians were nominated from more than 1,500 of their peers, and eight company grade officers were nominated from nearly 807 fellow CGOs.

Senior Master Sgt. Jason Malec, the superintendent for the Manpower and Personnel Directorate, was the co-chair for the event. Malec said the event, which was attended by more than 200, went off without a hitch.

"Overall, everything went really well," Malec said. "In the end, everything really came together. It was great to have the support of the Band, the Junior ROTC and the Cadet Saber Team."

Chief Master Sgt. Todd Salzman, the Academy command chief, was the guest speaker for the banquet. He congratulated the nominees on their accomplishments and thanked them for their service to the nation. He also recognized the supervisors and commanders who ensured their people received the recognition they deserved, and thanked families for their support to the nominees.

"These award recipients are representative of the outstanding men and women we have here at the Academy," Salzman said. "Our Airmen show their commitment to the Academy's mission to produce leaders of character for the nation, support overseas contingency operations and still find time to give back to the local community. And none of them does it alone. Each relies on a support network of family, friends, coworkers and a base support structure to help the Air Force achieve its mission to fly, fight and win. Congratulations to each of the winners and all 44 nominees."

The award recipients will now compete for Air Force-level honors.


Airman of the Year: Senior Airman Joseph McIlvaine, 10th Surgical Operations Squadron
NCO of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Jon Hyder, Commandant of Cadets staff
Senior NCO of the Year: Master Sgt. Brady McCoy, Commandant of Cadets staff
First Sergeant of the Year: Senior Master Sgt. Patrick Shaw, 10th Surgical Operations Squadron
Company Grade Officer of the Year: 1st Lt. Tasia Tindle, 10th Mission Support Group
Honor Guard Airman of the Year: Senior Airman Brian Delmarter, 10th Communications Squadron
Honor Guard NCO of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Carey Kehrer, 10th Surgical Operations Squadron
Honor Guard Senior NCO of the Year: Senior Master Sgt. Jay Valloric, Dean of Faculty staff
Honor Guard CGO of the Year: Capt. Melanie Slattery, Academy Preparatory School
Category 1 Civilian of the Year: LaTonya Wilson, Financial Management
Category 2 Civilian of the Year: Stephen Henry, 10th Medical Support Squadron
Category 3 Civilian of the Year: Carolyn Jewell, 10th Surgical Operations Squadron

No comments yet.  
Add a comment

 Inside USAFA

ima cornerSearch

tabAir Force Academy Social Media
  Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube
  More info on our Social Media page.
tabAcademy News
tabAcademy Links
tabOther Academy Sites

Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     USA.gov     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act